Posted on

Day 13: What’s your earliest memory?

I am sure I have loads of memories if I go down the memory lane but this particular one which I am going to share occurred to me as soon as I began writing this post so I I’ll go with it.

I was six and I was called along with my parents for an interview for a primary school after I had cleared their written test. I cleared the interview and was guaranteed an admission in that school. Next step was to buy the school course books. Back then, my father was struggling with his career so we weren’t that well off and our mum brought us up (especially me and my brother — the first two kids) in a way that we wouldn’t ask for anything (you know obedient children of the 20th century – always finger on the lips). Well, I saw this book ‘1000 words book’ (I was fond of reading back then too). I kept looking at that book; playing with the cover, sniffing the pages and leafing through the book. My mother noticed that I liked the book but she knew I wouldn’t say a word (I am exactly the same now, too shy to ask anything from my parents but my parents can read minds when it comes to that — fortunate me). Anyway, I didn’t realize that she bought that book along with the other school text books until I reached back home. When I saw that ‘1000 words book’ in the school bag, I rushed to my mother in excitement and hugged her. She kissed me on my forehead and then I rushed back in the room so I could be with my new book.

I just wonder sometimes that now a days, buying a 6 year old even an iPad wouldn’t bring the happiness I experienced with that book. That’s what I like about myself or that old-time: little things cheered us up.

Until next time, Live, Love, Inspire & (don’t forget to) Smile. Believe in yourself and you can conquer all your fears.

About globalunison

Writing is my passion and that is what I do here on this blog. I write about everything, whether it be Nature, Love, Hate, Relationships, Humans, Personal Life (where I discuss lessons learnt through real-life experiences), Food, Philosophy (sometimes) and much more. I write in any form whether it be Prose or Poetry. I am in search of ‘Myself’, hence there is not much I can tell you about me. Perhaps, I have a very brilliant idea. Why don’t you come along with me on my journey? I will always care to share and you can also enjoy the ride. For now, this is it. I am ‘ME’ – a wanderer in search of a fulfilling life. Until next time, Love Living Life! I express my sincere gratitude to all my Readers! -Naima

24 responses to “Day 13: What’s your earliest memory?

  1. billgncs

    That was an act of love

  2. When I was about two-three years old, while other kids were scribbling i always drew a certain star in the sky, and landscapes with crosses on it, was connected way back then! Nice post Naima! Hugs and blessings!

    • Thank you for always sharing your stories, Wendell. They bring me so much inspiration and strength. Thank you for reading and commenting. It means so much.

      Blessings to you and your family,
      -Naima

  3. You have always been special to me my sister from the very first times you embraced my poetry! You are always a blessing to me Naima…for more than a sister you are a genuine friend! May God continue to bless your life in amazing ways!

  4. Kikibee

    That’s so true. These days kids nor adults value money or kind of gratitude to their parents. Shameful !

  5. claire

    What a wonderful memory! yes, its the love behind the gift that counts, I’m sad that is often lost for children nowadays.

  6. [ Smiles ] Hmm. That would be my mother and I putting human clothing on a dog for the sheer fun of it.

  7. amoafowaa

    Little things do cheer, My adoptive mother bought me a cup like a trophy at the university. My roommates hated it but I loved the fact that it was a gift from her and worshipped it, cried when it fell and broke into pieces.

  8. Aw, the language of love. You’re fortunate.

  9. It was lovely reading this post. A beautiful memory indeed. It was a touching story. You are undoubtedly right when you say that these little things are precious and are way beyond iPad(s) and iPhone(s). 🙂

    –Dolly

Leave a Reply

