Posted on

Day 27: Post your Favorite Recipe

Since a year now, I have been obsessed with Trinidadian style stew chicken and I’d love to share the recipe. I was really bad at making it initially but I didn’t give up and now whoever I make it for, they can’t stop talking about it and always end up asking the recipe. So let’s get started, shall we?

Marination:
1kg Chicken and marinate with 4 tablespoons of Chief Green Seasoning. You can usually not find it in grocery stores but the Caribbean stores. I located one close by my house but if you don’t have the seasoning, no worries!! All you need is, 1 1/2 teaspoon of garlic paste, 1 1/2 teaspoon of ginger paste,1 1/2 hot chilli powder (more or less depending on how hot you want it to be), salt (as per your taste) and 1 teaspoon coriander powder. Chop 2 onions finely and throw them in the bowl along with the marinated chicken.Then leave the marination for an hour or so (I usually leave it over night).

Cooking:
Add two tablespoon of oil and let it heat. Add 4 to 5 tablespoons of sugar to the oil and caramelize the sugar and wait for it to change the color to dark brown-ish (more like blackish). Add your marinated chicken and onions in the caramelized sugar and mix it well so the chicken is covered with sugar properly. At this point, usually take down the temperature of the stove a little bit and cover the pot with its lid. Let the chicken cook in its own water but just don’t leave it to sit by itself (my mistake initially). Keep checking every 4 to 5 minutes so the chicken doesn’t burn. Also, initially you might think it needs water but don’t make that mistake either. Towards the end, if you think the chicken is not properly cooked, then you can add water and let it cook and bring it back to however thick gravy you want the chicken to have but this step is usually not needed. Well it will take around 20 to 30 minutes to cook the chicken. After 10 minutes of cooking the chicken, add 2 to 3 tablespoon of ketchup (more or less based on your taste again) and add chopped scotch bonnet pepper (Trinidadian people love a lot of pepper and I can tell with experience but people like me and you can burn our tongues and taste buds) so I prefer chopped green chilies. They aren’t as spicy as scotch bonnet and gives a good flavor to the dish too. You can tell the chicken is cooked when you can see a layer of oil on the sides of the pan (it seems like it’s a separated layer, something like that). Garnish it with chopped coriander and mint leaves (absolutely optional — moms like to pull that move with presentation).

Serving:
You can serve this with either boiled rice or roti or a takeaway naan from your local grocery store. Enjoy!

I think it wasn’t that bad. If any of you give it a try, I want to hear all about it!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Until next time,  Live, Love, Inspire & (don’t forget to) Smile. Believe in yourself and you can conquer all your fears.


Photo Source: All Rights Reserved With: https://www.globalunison.wordpress.com

About globalunison

Writing is my passion and that is what I do here on this blog. I write about everything, whether it be Nature, Love, Hate, Relationships, Humans, Personal Life (where I discuss lessons learnt through real-life experiences), Food, Philosophy (sometimes) and much more. I write in any form whether it be Prose or Poetry. I am in search of ‘Myself’, hence there is not much I can tell you about me. Perhaps, I have a very brilliant idea. Why don’t you come along with me on my journey? I will always care to share and you can also enjoy the ride. For now, this is it. I am ‘ME’ – a wanderer in search of a fulfilling life. Until next time, Love Living Life! I express my sincere gratitude to all my Readers! -Naima

13 responses to “Day 27: Post your Favorite Recipe

  1. juliemontgommerynews ⋅

    Looks good Darling! Will give it a try. Yum.

  2. Deanne ⋅

    It looks delicious..I get bet it taste yummy

  3. Sounds delicious! Too bad we don’t have easy access to some of the ingredients 😦

  4. oh2bhuman

    I can hardly wait to try it…I love spice!! Jerk chicken is my favourite, but I’ll give this a whirl.

  5. This looks delicious, Naima! I wish we could taste through the screen! 🙂 ♥

Leave a Reply

