Posted on

Hide and Seek

Beauty is not her face,
It is her thoughts,
The pain she hides behind her smile,
The tears she saves for the night,
Strength is not her physical capacity,
It is her willpower,
The battles she survived,
Those choices she made,
Wisdom is not her education,
It is her insight into life,
To allow herself the right to have an opinion,
To have the courage to be herself,
Success is not her wealth,
It is her happiness,
The motivation to achieve her goals,
The confidence to pursue her dreams,
Tears are not her weakness,
They are her language,
Whether sorrow or joy,
She takes refuge in them,
But did you ever see her bruised insides,
When she was hung over a lost lover,
And did you ever see the glow in her eyes,
When she had overcome her fears,
So she has been playing hide and seek,
For quite a while now,
You don’t always see what she feels,
Instead you have been looking at a world,
She created so it doesn’t reveal,
The mask she has been wearing to conceal,
Everything she truly is,
For she is scared that you will judge,
Her scarred soul and her intricate heart,
So don’t hate her,
Just let her be,
And set her free.

quotescover-JPG-86


Image Source: All Rights Reserved With: https://www.globalunison.wordpress.com

About globalunison

Writing is my passion and that is what I do here on this blog. I write about everything, whether it be Nature, Love, Hate, Relationships, Humans, Personal Life (where I discuss lessons learnt through real-life experiences), Food, Philosophy (sometimes) and much more. I write in any form whether it be Prose or Poetry. I am in search of ‘Myself’, hence there is not much I can tell you about me. Perhaps, I have a very brilliant idea. Why don’t you come along with me on my journey? I will always care to share and you can also enjoy the ride. For now, this is it. I am ‘ME’ – a wanderer in search of a fulfilling life. Until next time, Love Living Life! I express my sincere gratitude to all my Readers! -Naima

54 responses to “Hide and Seek

  1. billgncs

    nicely said – works on several levels

  2. Francois

    Life masks ….. we all have them. They have be ome the essence of who we are or who we want the world to see we are. Lovely piece

  3. People are often so more than what they seem, you just have to go beneath the surface a bit. Cheers =)

  4. I forgot to say how much I enjoyed this =)

  5. The Bibliophile Diaries ⋅

    Almost liberating.

  6. Oh, Naima. I loved reading this 🙂

  7. Hi,

    I’ve nominated you for the Encouraging Thunder Award!
    Please see the rules at the following link:

    http://robertmgoldstein.com/2015/05/13/5401/

  8. AdiC

    You just described a lot of strong women through this and I’m sure they’re all thankful to you! It is a beautiful play of words 🙂 Just amazing!

  9. Absolutely charming, for a her or a him!

  10. Saya

    wow and wow…know what you mean..written beautifully..

  11. sulagno13

    Hey I have nominated you for the Liebster Award so kindly check it out. https://persuitandpassion.wordpress.com/2015/05/14/liebster-award/ 🙂

  12. prakku12

    Well, this explains my current state.
    A beautiful composition like your name.
    Love and luck
    -Prakritii

  13. izza ifzaal ⋅

    I wish I can give the pamphlet of it to all those who annoy the living hell out of me :p
    Maybe for now a screen shot will do good. .:D

  14. That is an absolutely superb verse.

    I loved the depth and the layers of expressions and emotions which you have been able to articulate.

    As I read the verse, my thoughts went to a young widow who had lost her husband to Leukemia. And her inner and outer struggle. A while back, I had written about this ‘ the other side of sadness’ and I give the link here, should you or your readers be interested to explore some of those inner emotions.

    http://esgeemusings.com/2013/02/07/the-other-side-of-sadness/

    Shakti

  15. RoSy

    So profound. And – something I can definitely relate to.

  16. It’s amazingly true, Naima! I could relate with every next line.

  17. Naima this is such a wonderful penned cry of the heart of a gal 🙂 Strong powerful words 🙂

  18. Candy ⋅

    Reblogged this on Come And Rest Awhile and commented:
    Wow! That was incredible!

  19. Reblogged this on thegirlhasnoname and commented:
    Just perfect. So, so, so very perfect.

  20. This is the first time I’m visiting your blog and I couldn’t stop reading through it! But this one’s your very best and I loved it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

