Posted on

Affliction

Fill and consume, flutter and fly,
Hold your breath for you know it’s a goodbye;
Live and love, cut and heal,
The heart doesn’t know what it feels;
Forget and forgive, thrash and thrive,
Fulfill these dreams now that I feel alive;
Chaos is my middle name and sometimes I freak out,
Pain gives me pleasure and scars are what it’s all about,
Ingrained in me is the pride and ego you loathe and self-doubt,
I am coming down like a sea storm in your days of drought.

Fuse and form, flow and feel,
Blend in the darkness for light is your deal;
Dos and don’ts, watch and listen,
Let the power of love in your eyes glisten;
Pray and plead, flip and turn,
Fairy tales and happy endings are not what I yearn;
Chaos is my middle name and sometimes I freak out,
Pain gives me pleasure and scars are what it’s all about,
Ingrained in me is the beauty which is never going to burn out,
I am coming down like a sea storm in your days of drought.

Burns and bruises, plays and charades,
My fading youth as the time tears me apart;
Foolish and brave, fumes and faith,
The flash of your memory reduced to a wraith;
Blues and whites, loss and gain,
The sky above my head is pouring blood in vain;
Chaos is my middle name and sometimes I freak out,
Pain gives me pleasure and scars are what it’s all about,
The thousands of kisses I stole from your mouth,
Beware for I shall come like a sea storm in your days of drought.

About globalunison

Writing is my passion and that is what I do here on this blog. I write about everything, whether it be Nature, Love, Hate, Relationships, Humans, Personal Life (where I discuss lessons learnt through real-life experiences), Food, Philosophy (sometimes) and much more. I write in any form whether it be Prose or Poetry. I am in search of ‘Myself’, hence there is not much I can tell you about me. Perhaps, I have a very brilliant idea. Why don’t you come along with me on my journey? I will always care to share and you can also enjoy the ride. For now, this is it. I am ‘ME’ – a wanderer in search of a fulfilling life. Until next time, Love Living Life! I express my sincere gratitude to all my Readers! -Naima

16 responses to “Affliction

  1. You absolutely nailed it! Awesome. 🙂

  2. I am glad you are not pissed at me!!! 😀

  3. Maestro ⋅

    Good idea and thoughts but not in a poetic rythem like the flow is not balanced, they say in urdu, wazn barabar nahi hai.
    Still love the concept and words. Good work keep it up.

    • I am merely a learner, I hope one day I will be able to achieve the expertise to ensure that my poetry has fluidity and flows smoothly. Any form of criticism is always welcome, instead it is what encourages me to do better than mere compliments. Thank you for taking out the time to read and for offering me your piece of mind.

      Blessings,
      -Naima

  4. This is a very strong poem. Really deep and hard core. Only this line gives me pause. Pain gives me pleasure and scars are what it’s all about. Pain giving pleasure. I use to think that . Now I now realize it wasn’t pleasure but understanding. I thought some of my best poems were the tragic, self pity, painful poems. They are good but joy that emerged from the pain iis much better better. 🙂

  5. Wow, very deep, Naima. Wonderful poem! ♥

  6. Magnifique! You are simply great! I love this.
    I guess, this the best of you so far. Of course, I love other poems.
    But this is the best! 🙂

  7. AdiC

    What do I say, Naima! You leave me short of words ❤

  8. thenadlog

    Love love love this!

  9. The Bibliophile Diaries ⋅

    It’s wonderful reading your work!

  10. barrira

    Hi ❤
    Wow, this was beautiful *applause*
    Also just caught up with all the missed blog posts, couldn't comment on all but your words pull heart strings. Keep doing what you're doing ❤
    Much love & Hugs
    B

  11. Alex Jones ⋅

    Beautiful poem. A hint of a riddle. Fast and flowing.

  12. I loved this poem 🙂 This poem somewhat describes my present situation also and it was good to feel it all via your words 😉 I re-read it as a song, kind of a rap and it was great 😉 Naima, you’re awesome with your way of thinking and powerful poems 🙂

  13. kutukamus

    Anything fresh to kill a drought.. is a very nice thought 🙂

  14. swashbuckler2 ⋅

    As usual , beautiful!!

Leave a comment